forclassic.blogg.se

American civil war gameplay
American civil war gameplay












american civil war gameplay american civil war gameplay

Gamers can choose which side they want to play as and can take part in 10 battles, most of them with names clearly recognizable to those who know a bit about the history of the period, but also some more obscure ones. I used the historical strategies, I developed new ones, I read and thought about the two engagements, and today I still fire up the game from time to time and marvel at its enduring quality.īattleplan: American Civil War is a video game that uses strategy mechanics and also tackles the Civil War, developed by The Mustard Corporation with help from Osprey Publishing, and I quickly returned to the battlefields of the XIX century United States in order to test my skills at warfare once more.īattleplan: American Civil War is, as the name implies, focused on the conflict which pitted the United States of America, mostly referred to as the Union, and the Confederate States of America, made up of the slave holders of the South. One of the video games that I loved when I was young was Sid Meier’s Gettysburg, the military strategy title that sought to simulate what was probably the most important battle of the Civil War, but back then, my computer was utterly unable to run it without crashes, so I almost never managed to win as either of the two involved armies.Īfter a few years, I re-discovered the strategy series with Antietam, the game that aimed to create a virtual version of the bloodiest battle of the conflict, and with an upgraded machine, I played it for tens of hours.














American civil war gameplay